AboutThe Mill's story dates back to 1647, when the original building burned down. That same year, the Mill had been occupied by Oliver Cromwell's roundheads.
A new mill was built in 1648 and is believed to have functioned as a corn mill until the late 18th Century.
Later, in the 19th Century, it was acquired by the Appleton family and used for making braid for military uniforms. The 1851 census shows that 100 people worked here, which perhaps explains why the Cupola on the roof was installed around that time the bell used to call people to work!
A place of real history, the Mill was used as a hospital during World War II. Visit our mezzanine level and you can see for yourself the graffiti scribblings left by recovering soldier.
Experience Shakespeare as it was intended – live, informal and in the pub. Soak up some Shakespeare in the Garden with Fuller’s this Summer.Find Out More
Win a pub for Dad
Win the ultimate Father’s Day gift, including a pub re-named in his honour and lunch for up to 20 of people. Every entrant will receive a drink for them and their dad on the houseEnter Now